A Smartphone Journey with the New Moto E

The depth of my love towards technology cannot be described. Probably, it is as deep as the Mariana Trench (for those who don’t know, Mariana Trench is considered to be the deepest part of the world’s ocean, and yes there are many more geographical and scientific references coming up 😛 ). The very first thing that attracted me towards technology was NOT phones, but elevators.  I remember being amazed at this wonderful creation that could go up or down when someone would ask it to. But I didn’t stay a curious 6 year old for long. The moment I wrapped my head around the concept of elevators, I lost interest in it. All of them were the same, only the size differed.

But then there was something better, moving stair cases or as people call, “the escalator”. I was fascinated by its working, but then again, when I knew how it worked, I lost interest in it. The point I am trying to make is that, having love towards technology kept me looking for more advanced machines, but the moment I realized how it worked, it ceased to fascinate me and I would go about looking for something better.  It was this quest of mine that lead me to discover many new things and soon I found 2 specific gadgets that I remained interested about for years. It was the mobile phone and notebooks. But I still do have the “losing interest syndrome”, not as much as before though. My adventure with the notebooks is a completely different story. Sticking to the topic, I’ll share my escapades in  the world of mobile phones.

When I was young, I clearly remember my excitement with each new mobile phone that I got to see. There would be a cycle: first, I would think it’s the best phone on the planet, then go through all the features it had, find things that make it better than the other phones, declare it  isn’t the best phone in the world, play games, check out the ring tones, try to test its breaking point, get yelled by my parents and finally lose interest in that model. This cycle continued, and now that I have grown up, the cycle remains, but the checkpoints within it has changed, or I would rather say, “My curiosity cycle has matured.”

I remember playing with the old Nokia phones, the one with black and white displays, with only 5 to 10 ringtones and “the snake game” inbuilt in it. For the readers born in the 21st century, “yes, there existed such a phone and its specifications were, 1 inch black and white display, weeks of battery life, no music player and people did find that fascinating”. Coming back to the point, that phone was like heaven to me. I remember playing with it, pretending to be calling someone, and talking about it with my friends.That was the time when I chose to start my life as a mobile game player. Well, those were the times when people were smart and not the mobiles they carried.

Stepping a bit further in time, I would like to tell you my story with a company that changed my perspective of what mobile phones looked like.  I personally have a strong connection with this company, probably as strong as a chemical covalent bond ( google it up! :P) , and I’ll tell you why I feel I have this deep connection.

Years ago, I was in love with that company. It was Motorola. It was the time when Motorola was not just a leader but also a majestic driving force of technology. For those of you who don’t know about Motorola, here is a small composition about their innovations. They made the world’s first rectangular color tube for a TV way back in the 1960s. They made the world’s first 2 way pager, the world’s first Digital HDTV Technical Standard, world’s first GSM cellular network. They freaking brought the world’s first Commercial Portable Cellular Phone. And the world’s first list goes on. Such was their greatness.

Motorola had brought out a new phone, called the “Moto Razr” and soon followed it with “Moto Razr 2”.  I was awestruck. It was a phone so sleek and gorgeous yet powerful. I hadn’t seen anything like it. My friend had one, and I remember borrowing it from him, whenever we had time and using it. The buttons were of the same level, there was a glowing design, kind of etched on as circular rings that glowed when light fell on it.  The best part was the clicking sound it made when the display was flipped back. It was an amazing experience. This was the phase when I chose to start as a technology enthusiast and I  knew that this was my passion. This is why I love Motorola, for showing me what innovation can do through technology.

But soon, Samsung flooded the market with android phones, the love for moto diminished, there were much cooler things a phone could do and I got trapped into the new era of phones that were called “the smartphones”.  Before I could realize, the connection with moto I had was faded.

But Motorola is a true leader. It has proven to people like me what it is capable of. It has now bounced back with a new avatar called “Moto” and is back innovating and driving a niche filed of economic smartphone availability. I am guilty that I had lost the precious connection that I had with a company like moto and I do apologize to anyone, who was working extremely hard to resurrect Motorola. With the release of the new Moto E, all I can say is that, moto has now made the “world’s first complete smartphone”.

Some might ask, why would I say that the new Moto E is the world’s first complete smartphone?? Afterall, there are many others who provide better features at economical rates. Well, to people like that, here is my answer: “the other economical smartphone providers deliver inferior build quality and hardware. It is more like judging a book by its cover. It is not built to last long or to be useful. It is just built for the users to show off that their phones have some cool features, most of which are below acceptable rates. They are all built out of compromises to meet the economic level of pricing a phone”

But the new Moto E is eccentric. It’s rare to find someone providing something that is more than what it is worth. And that someone is Moto and that something is the new Moto E.  While the other economic smartphones are built out of compromises, the New Moto E is built out of innovation.

 I believe in keeping or owning things that I need and is useful and not just because “I might need something someday”. This is why, to me, the new Moto E is the lost connection to the company I admired. It has all the required features (which you will soon know), it has amazing build quality and it’s extremely economical, which means it has a strong potential to percolate to the remote places of India and among all kinds of people thus connecting a large part of the Indian population and indirectly support growth.

So, coming to the present, I am in the phase of my life where I start to discover myself, my career, my passions and I know that I have a whole new set of possibilities that are heading towards me and I would like to share some of the things that I choose to start with the new Moto E as a virtual companion:

Being a writer and a student is hard work. I have multiple things to do at once. My usual path of life makes me go through college and get a degree where as I love to write on the things that I learn on my own. I love writing on technical and technological advances. I like writing about things that I come across in life. But here lies the problem. Being a student I am restricted by budget on my spending and being a writer I need all the time that I can have to come up with something good. Being an affordable phone packed with so many features, it suits my budget and having a big enough phone like the new Moto E, I can write easily and literally write anywhere: During commute, break times, when I am stuck in traffic or at my leisure. Utilization of time is of the utmost importance and I believe that the new Moto E is the key to do that. With the improved battery, I needn’t even worry about the charge running out very quickly.  So, this is me choosing to start writing on the go!

Like most people, I am on my journey to find many things that I like to do. The things that complete me and things that let me explore, discover and express myself. Artistic views are said to be present in each one of us and I want to find mine. One of the things that I have wanted to do is capture people I meet. Hear out their story.  With the high availability of the internet, people are becoming active virtually rather than meeting real people. I had an idea to use the internet itself to encourage people to make real connections with others. I wanted to capture the moments with the people I meet and hear out their story. Then write about them.  The second door opening to start something new with the Moto E is capturing people. I can easily take pictures of people I meet, record conversations, shoot their creations if they have one, and share their story on a blog. I believe this way people can read it, watch it, hear them out and find the joy that I get by having true connections with people around me or the people we meet where we go and try doing the same. So this is me, choosing to start sharing, the true joy of human connections.

While I write I bring in my imagination, my creativity and the knowledge that I have together to create something that I feel is beautiful. But there is only so much that I can write, until I face a block.  The secret to have a continuous flow of thoughts is to keep feeding the brain and the soul with newer thoughts and things to ponder about and questions that make us think deeply. The only way to do it is to read.   Reading is indeed the stone to sharpen one’s mind.  I read, but I cannot always. Carrying books around is a real pain and an extra luggage. But with a smartphone like the Moto E, I can overcome that unnecessary bit of effort that needs to be put in.  With a new smartphone I choose to start a virtual library, with tons of books that I want to read or re-read, from where ever I am and whenever I want. With larger display, better battery and much increased storage, I can’t help but to stop thinking about all the books I can store and then read and learn from. I want my life to be a journey of discovery and visiting places I haven’t been before. As Dr. Seuss once said, “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn the more places you’ll go”. What better way than to have hundreds or probably thousands of books with me on my journey, for who knows what I’ll learn, what I’ll share! To me, this is one of the greatest things that I choose to start, reading without any hurdles, reading with hope!

 So, it is clear to me that having the new Moto E will be a start to a whole new set of experiences and I do hope that I get a chance to start new, start afresh and never look back.

Now coming to the geeky bits, the phone specifications:

PROCESSOR and RAM: The new Moto E has a 1.2 GHz quad core processor with 1 GB RAM. Trust me with my technical knowledge, when I say, “this is awesome”. With this much of power, app switching, graphic intensive gaming, usage of memory hungry applications is a breeze.

CAMERA: the new Moto E sports a 5 Megapixel primary Camera with autofocus. I am really excited about this one as, the older Moto E had a decent camera without auto focus but now with this addition makes it a level higher. Also an amazing addition is the secondary 0.3 Megapixel front camera. No one can complain that they cannot take selfies anymore.

STORAGE AND CONNECTIVITY: The new Moto E now has double the storage compared to its predecessor, making the total internal storage to 8GB and an amazing external expanding capacity up to 32 GB. It also has support for the Superfast 3G connectivity, placing it in par with many of the high end smartphones.

DISPLAY: It has a qHD 4.5 inch display. It is a bigger screen with sharp, crisp and bright display. You now know why with this phone, I choose to start reading and writing on the go. A  LCD display like this one, gives a fresh feeling and doesn’t stress your eyes too much, allowing you to watch great high quality videos.

BATTERY: The new Moto E now comes with a 2390 mAh battery, assuring long lasting availability upon mixed usage. This is significantly higher than the previous model, making this phone way better.

OTHER COOL FEATURES: The corning Gorilla Glass on the screen makes it a tough, water repellant surface and protects it from damage. The smudge proof coating keeps the fingerprint away. One of the coolest features is that, it now comes with the latest android, the Android Lollipop OS which means it has the latest software running making sure everything feels new.

Finally, coming to the cost, the new Moto E, costs Rs.7000 only. Now, for the readers who aren’t familiar with the Moto concept or the Moto E concept in specific, the above mentioned price isn’t a typo. The phone does cost only Rs. 7000. Isn’t that great? And for the people who know about the Moto E, I am sure that you are as excited and surprised as I am, that with such a large amount of improvements, the cost remains the same. This is truly wonderful and worth it.

So coming back to my declaration, I think almost all of you who disagreed earlier, will now agree that the new Moto E is the “world’s first complete smartphone”.

To find out more  awesome stuff about the New Moto E head over to http://www.startwithmotoe.com/  or click here

2 thoughts on “A Smartphone Journey with the New Moto E

  1. Good (and long) article. My first non smart phone was a Motorola too. Then I switched to Sony Walkman, LG Optimus One P500, and finally back to Motorola with Moto X. So I understand what do you mean by Moto coming back with a bang. 😉
    Article could be lot shorter btw. Something are repeated, eg: “While the other economic smartphones are built out of compromises, the New Moto E is built out of innovation.”. Do edit it out.

Leave a comment